Ars Electronica

November 18th
01:15 AM – 01:45 AM (PST)
10:15 AM – 10:45 AM (CET)
05:15 PM – 05:45 PM (CST)
06:15 PM – 06:45 PM (JST)
08:15 PM – 08:45 PM (AEDT)

Ars Electronica Futurelab x Wacom

Panel Discussion

"Where do souls live?" Does Future Ink hold the answer to this question?

Where is my Soul? A fundamental and never-ending question. Can creators express their soul, or Kotodama – a Japanese belief that there are souls and mystical powers in what we express – with technologies and instruments?

When Wacom met Ars Electronica Futurelab (Linz, Austria), we decided to challenge this question by bringing together our vision, beliefs, and community and creating brand new experiences from art, technology and human perspectives.

We have initiated the "Future Ink" journey in which we study and explore the creative potential of ink from various perspectives. In the project's journey, we aim to implement five innovative concepts: Space Ink, AI Ink, Bio Ink, Mind Ink, and Body Ink.

As a first year pilot, we have researched the possibility of "Space Ink" by combining Wacom’s pen technology and Futurelab’s Spaxel drone technology. The goal is to capture the multidimensionality of the artistic moment of creation, to interact, to control, and to project it onto the wall as a sign of a successive cooperation and mutual inspiration between machine and human. Both artist and drone draw and create in their own language and way of expression on screen and in the air while interacting in a “call and response” way to create new inspiration for each other. This relationship mirrors the relationship between Ars Electronica Futurelab and Wacom: We're not seeking common answers but keep questioning and challenging each other to come up with new and unexpected insight and questions.

We will present a documentary film about our collaboration, including our open lab demonstration at the Ars Electronica Festival in September 2020. In addition, we will raise new questions about "Future Ink" and deepen the discussion by bringing new art perspectives by music. We will create a new style of creative brainstorming with improvised music and graphic recording.

Attendees
Ogawa Hideaki, Ars Electronica Futurelab
Nobu Ide, Wacom CEO

Ogawa Hideaki
Ars Electronica Futurelab

Hide-Ogawa
Nobutaka Ide

Nobu Ide, Wacom CEO