Alamillo

November 17th
05:00 AM – 05:30 AM (PST)
02:00 PM – 2:30 PM (CET)
09:00 PM – 09:30 PM (CST)
10:00 PM – 10:30 PM (JST)
12:00 AM – 12:30 AM (AEDT)

Ignacio Alamillo-Domingo

Astrea La Infopista Juridica, Spain

Human Rights in the digital space

Handwritten signatures are a defining feature of the commercial history of mankind. Since the Middle Ages, we've used signatures to formalize contracts and declare consent. Signatures not only express intentions and accountability, they are also becoming a symbol of human identity worldwide. But how does this status translate within the digital world?

eSignature law expert Dr. Ignacio Alamillo-Domingo shares his view on what identifies an individual as a person on the internet. He walks us through the tools needed to project digital personhood and to provide online consent in a legally binding manner. Depending on how identity information is controlled, however, personhood and human rights can come under attack. Can handwritten eSignatures help empower human rights in the era of ubiquitous personal data collection?