Jiri-Mekyska

November 17th
11:00 AM – 11:30 AM (PST)
08:00 PM – 08:30 PM (CET)
November 18th
03:00 AM – 03:30 AM (CST)
04:00 AM – 04:30 AM (JST)
06:00 AM – 06:30 AM (AEDT)

Jiri Mekyska

Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic

Diagnosing and helping children with GD

Children spend between 31% and 60% of their time at school practicing handwriting, a complex perceptual-motor skill composed of a coordinated combination of fine graphomotor movements. As up to 30% of them experience graphomotor difficulties (GD), timely diagnosis of these difficulties and therapeutic intervention are extremely important. At present, an objective, computerized decision-based support system for the identification and assessment of GD in school-aged children is still missing. In the framework of this speech, we will introduce our project and explain how we use Wacom's technology to enable special education counsellors to better identify and assess symptoms present in children with GD. Such an approach provides objective and advanced analysis with a positive impact on children’s quality of life.