MarkusWeber

November 17th
08:00 AM – 08:30 AM (PST)
05:00 PM – 05:30 PM (CET)
November 18th
01:00 AM – 01:30 AM (JST)
03:00 AM – 03:30 AM (AEDT)
12:00 AM – 12:30 AM (CST)

Markus Weber

Wacom, Germany

From analog to digital ink in modern education

Analog ink has always played a key role in modern education. Now with the upcoming digitization of school, using digital ink on a digital device will be of equal importance going forward.

This talk will highlight the importance of standardizing digital ink for education, while providing an outlook on how technology can utilize the Universal Ink Model.

A technology such as Semantic Ink can help students with their learning progress by using artificial intelligence systems and a knowledge graph to present learners with the appropriate information based on their personal needs. Moreover, such technology can be used to understand input from learners and guide them with feedback or automatically rate their work.

By modeling the learners' work history, her/his strengths and cognitive state, the learning context in education ontologies, and semantifying content in knowledge graphs, Markus Weber demonstrates how and why the future of ink will be meaningful in education.