verena-pausder_900x900

November 17th
04:00 AM – 05:00 AM (PST)
01:00 PM – 02:00 PM (CET)
08:00 PM – 09:00 PM (CST)
09:00 PM – 10:00 PM (JST)
11:00 PM – 12:00 AM (AEDT)

Verena Pausder

Verena Pausder, Founder of "Digitale Bildung für alle e.V.", Author of "Das Neue Land", Germany
Heidi Wang, Wacom, Germany

Empowering our children to become digital creators, not just digital consumers

In 2020, digital education finally became a priority on the political agenda. Now due to Covid-19 we are experiencing the largest (involuntary) education experiment of all times. We should use this momentum to upgrade our education system because 65% of primary school children today will work in jobs that do not even exist yet. Therefore, skills how to program, design, and understand digital tools must be at the core of today's education.

Schools need to create room (in both time and space) to give teachers and students more freedom to learn relevant skills in a multidisciplinary way. Let’s start now to build schools and train teachers that empower our children to become digital creators and not just digital consumers! Verena Pausder and Heidi Wang talk about the challenges and opportunities of digital education and present the results of the Thinkathon contest for digital ink in education.

Heidi Wang, Wacom, Germany

heidi-wang_900x900